Student accident on campus frightens pedestrians and alerts drivers!

Today started off as a regular Monday. Of course I got out of bed late and took too long to leave the house, like usual.  I was rushing to class when I noticed a traffic build up near the building where my class was. I took an alternate route and parked and began walking to class. Suddenly, I noticed a police car, an ambulance, a fire truck, and a small crowd near the crosswalk. I continued to walk and then I noticed in the middle of the crowd there was a girl on the ground. I soon realized she had been hit by a car while on her bike. I instantly felt bad for the girl and I hoped that she was okay. As I continued to class I saw them put her on a stretcher as she appeared to be unconscious. This incident made me think about a lot; for example times when I have been driving and not paying attention to pedestrians or times when I’ve been walking and not paying attention to my surroundings. It made me realize that you never know what can happen so always pay attention and be aware of your surroundings. We should do this not only for the sake of our lives but for the sake of others’ lives as well. I just thought about how hurt I would be if I received a phone call about one of my siblings or close relatives being injured. I wouldn’t wish that feeling on my worst enemy. Hopefully this incident sent a message to students and staff on campus.

Leave a Reply

